Drunk driving leads to many injuries and deaths in Arizona as well as throughout the rest of the United States. Many steps have been taken by various organizations to highlight the dangers of drunk driving. To minimize drunk driving accidents, many laws have been enforced by officials. While some of those laws prevent underage drinking, others lead to fines and penalties.
In Arizona, the minimum legal drinking age is 21 years old. It is considered illegal in Arizona if any person, who is intoxicated and is below 21 years of age, is found driving a vehicle. This zero tolerance law has reduced the accidents related to drunk driving, on average, by four percent. Arizona also has a 0.08 blood alcohol concentration law. According to reports, this law can reduce drunk driving incidents by almost seven percent.
Another law that is enforced in the state is revocation of the drunk driver's license. This law enables the police officer to ask the suspected drunk driver to perform roadside sobriety tests and breath tests. If the driver fails the BAC test or refuses to perform the test, the driver's license authorities or police can revoke the person's driver's license. Reports have stated that this law has decreased drunk driving incidents, on average, by 6.5 percent.
Those laws not only reduce the drunk driving incidents but they also save money. However, some drivers choose to not follow them. This not only puts the lives of the drunk drivers in jeopardy but also risks the lives of other people on the roads. If a person is involved in an accident due to the negligence of a drunk driver, the state laws also help the injured person to recover compensation for their losses as a result of the accident.
Source: AZDPS.gov, "DUI Prevention," Accessed on Oct. 20, 2014